Cake In A Mug

“5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake” (CC BY 2.0) by Dave Haygarth

“Cake in a mug? Yuck!”

This was my first, visceral reaction when Jenna told me she’d found a new dessert. I thought, “It’s a gimmick. It can’t possibly be any good, and certainly the cake will be soup-like gloppy, or so dry and hard we’ll have to throw away the cup and all.” But she Jenna persisted, gently urging me to try something which just didn’t sound good. Begrudgingly, I agreed to sampel this “cake in a mug” concoction. Soon afterward, Jen brought me the fresh-from-the-microwave mug warning me it was hot (this was an understatement, it was near surface-of-the-sun temperatures) I waited, then stuck a bite in my mouth sure I wouldn’t like. But I did like it. I really liked it!

I’m a convert. What I thought impossible turned out to be excellent. It is superb for hand warming on cold days, but most importantly, it resembles a fresh-out-of-the-oven chocolate chip cookie, although much softer and all chocolate. Not soupy or overly dry, the cake is a perfect balance between the two.

Below is the recipe which Jenna improved with some wise tweaking. We eat it with spoons because our tongues can’t reach the bottom corners.

Ingredients:
4 Tbls of flour
2 Tbls of cocoa
3 Tbls of sugar
1/4 t. baking powder
3 Tbls of milk
3 Tbls of oil
1/4 t. vanilla
chocolate chips

Directions:
1) In a 12 ounce mug combine sugar, flour, cocoa, and baking powder. Mix until well-blended and until most of the chunks are gone.
2) Add your vanilla or almond flavor, milk, and oil (for a more fudge-like cake, add a bit more oil) and mix well until combined.
3) Stir in the chips until blended. There is no limit on chocolate chips so pour to your hearts content. 😉 This step is very important if you’re a chocolate lover. Jen usually adds some extra on top to make it even more delicious.
4) Place it in your microwave and cook for about 2 minutes. You may add some powdered sugar on top or caramel or your favorite topping. (We usually don’t as it’s already fantastic.)
5) Let it sit for 5 minutes—remember this cake is nearly as hot as the sun—and enjoy your treat!

Let me know what you think of this recipe once you’ve tried it. Post your comments below.

Leave a Reply

