False: We Should Choose the Lesser of Two Evils

hellery-trump
Hellery Trump?

Let me tell you a story: The convict was a man was caught for a crime punishable by death. His life was forfeit. The jailer gave him two options. He could be executed by firing squad, or choose the black door. The convicted criminal was not told what was behind the black door, but he was given a day to think and make a choice between the two.

The next day, the jailer asked him what his choice. The convict said, “Firing squad, because at lease I know how I will die.” He was promptly taken out and executed by firing squad.

After the exchange a new guard asked the jailer, “What’s behind the black door?”

“Freedom,” the jailer responded, “but few men have the courage to choose the unknown…”

What’s Your Perspective?

I doubt many people would disagree this election season presents us with very poor choices.

In my last post I ended by saying, “Don’t just vote your values, vote God’s standards.”

Here’s the thing. I cannot tell you what to think, nor do I want to. What I am asking you to do is evaluate, not based on someone’s opinion—man is flawed—but with God’s wisdom. In other words, I’m trying to move you to a Godly (righteous) perspective.

What do I mean by this?

Adrian Rogers did an excellent job giving the biblical qualification for a leader. In this post I am going to dial back a few notches to review an article and short video series which are making their way around the internet.

By the way, if you are a Christian, you really should use God’s standards for your decision making. Please click here to listen to what Adrian has to say.

Here’s my main point: The idea of voting for the lesser of two evils is a false dichotomy. We Christians need to banish this concept and adopt a wholly different one. I did not fully develop this notion last time so I will expand not by using our tow principal presidential candidates as examples. Hopefully you will see there is an overarching principal which far exceeds the election.

Two Points of View

In order to present this topic I must say I am not “paper-trained” theologian (translation I don’t have a theological degree) but that doesn’t stop me from knowing my Savior and what He wants. The same goes for you.

A theologian who is “paper-trained” is Wayne Grudem. The article he wrote is “Why Voting for Donald Trump is a Morally Good Choice.” I encourage you to read it. I have no problem with his argument as far as it goes. He gives good reasons why Trump, though highly flawed, would probably make a better president than Hillary Clinton.

Indeed, one can make a case that Trump wouldn’t be as bad a president as Hillary (if you can figure out what he’s going to do). But The Donald is a big question-mark. He’s held opinions on both sides of so many issues no one but him really knows what he is going to do. It seems nearly everyone forgets he has been a liberal/soft progressive his whole life based on what he has said and the causes he supported in the past. “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21, HCSB) The way this election season is progressing, it appears that since he put the magic “R” on his name he gets a free pass from those who should be holding him accountable for his beliefs, and because he is the “lesser of two evils” we should vote for him. (As an aside, considering how he’s running his campaign, I’m not even sure he’s serious about winning. This is just one example.)

Without a doubt Killery… I mean Hillary (a.k.a. Nurse Ratchet) is a horrible, corrupt person and I don’t want her as my president. The things in which she’s involved… Stink. On. Ice. I could go on for pages about all the bad things she’s done (with citations) and still not address them all, but I digress…

Here’s my issue with Grudem’s article. He has limited our choice to Hillary and Donald and compares them only to each other (while using the Bible to do so). I categorically reject the basis of Grudem’s argument and you should too! I realize asking you to reject Wayne’s reasoning is a tall order when he is very learned and respected. While Christ followers do have an obligation to restrain evil this is not, or should not be, our only consideration. I don’t believe he consults the whole of God’s word.

Please hear me, we are to be salt and light (Matt. 5:13, 14). Preserving good, exposing evil, and shining light for Jesus Christ. However, when it comes to politics, we keep falling into this “lesser of two evil’s” trap year after year. We’ve got to stop this kind of thinking. (See Phyllis Schlafly’s book A Choice Not an Echo. How are President McCain and President Romey working out for you? This kind of situation goes back many years!)

When Jesus speaks in Matthew 5:13 and 14, He didn’t stop after saying we are salt and light but He continues, But if the salt should lose its taste, how can it be made salty? It’s no longer good for anything but to be thrown out and trampled on by men…. A city situated on a hill cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and puts it under a basket, but rather on a lampstand, and it gives light for all who are in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”1

Besides simply restraining evil in our culture, we need to stand for Christian principals. Yes, I have stated this before, and I am deeply convicted this issue is of primary importance and is lacking during this whole political process—at least on the presidential level—and for our culture in general. We are far too concerned about who is least bad, instead of who is best. Can you see the subtle difference in motivation?

Let me ask two question: Does it seem that Christians are being trampled by men today? Who is responsible for this? In view of what Jesus said, we are culpable because we are not salty.

Another question: Are we shining light on evil and shining forth the light of Christ in all our ways? Part of our duty is to stand up (shine) for God’s standards, and draw people to His light (without us people are in darkness). If we are not doing these things why are we here on planet Earth?

A Different Angle

With this in mind I introduce you to a short video series called 5 Steps to Political Epiphany by Rev. Cary Gordon. You need to watch all five videos. Rev. Gordon gives a logical progression of diagnosing the problem, how our thinking has been influenced by worldly philosophies, and what we can do to change our (political) culture.

In the spirit of 2 Timothy 3:16, “All Scripture is inspired by God and is profitable for teaching, for rebuking, for correcting, for training in righteousness,” he succinctly gives a Biblical argument for why voting for the lesser of two evils is wrong. I won’t spoil the videos by telling you everything he says, but I will give you one hard pill to swallow: We (Christians) are responsible for the current state of our nation! How is this possible?

Let me put this to you in a rather lewd but biblical way. If a guy knows he can “score” with a girl without doing anything to woo her do you think he’s going to try?2 Think of this when you watch the videos.

I am just as much at fault for my past votes, but we haven’t been standing for God’s standards. If we do start standing for Christian principals, we would see a drastic change in our political system over time.

Again, you should watch all five videos. I encourage you to contrast both the article by Grudem and the video by Gordon and come to your own conclusions. Please don’t fall into the trap of “but Hillary this, but Hillary that…” Think God’s standards, He is to be our mind.

Do you really think voting for the lesser of two evils is as effective as standing up for principals made by our all powerful, all knowing Savior?

Are we going to choose the firing squad or the black door?

As for me, I am done voting for the lesser of two evils. Are you?

I choose the white door.

Thank you for reading. Please post your thoughts below.

 

___________________________

1 The Holy Bible: Holman Christian Standard Version. (Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers, 2009), Mt 5:13–16.

2Think Israel and her repeated whoredom in the imagery of Hosea, or how Israel repeatedly turned to other gods.

 

Leave a Reply

