Are you on the edge?

on the edge

Are you at the point in life where unfulfilled dreams weigh more than your success? Are you jobless, at a dead end job, single (and wanting to be married), windowed unexpectedly, just lost a parent, are wishing for a baby or can’t seem to get out of debt… the list of possible unfulfilled dreams goes on and on…

Are you on the edge and and feel like God doesn’t even care about you—or worse, might even be laughing at or punishing you? Do you feel like chucking the whole “faith thing” out of sheer frustration?

I have been there and it stinks. I’ve wondered if “this” was all there was; go to work, come home, and go going to bed—day after day after day. I didn’t have Jenna, my job wasn’t going anywhere fast, and I was frustrated. I kept asking God, “What is the point?” And “Change things! Because this is no fun.”

I seriously considered giving up on God, but I had to ask myself: To what will I turn? If not God, what? Myself? My job? Nah. My car? My looks? Making money? Not a chance.

When I got to this point I was on the edge, ready to give up on God. I did not see where life was going. I had to do some serious soul searching and this lead me back to Him. There was no other answer. If I abandoned God, I am left to myself.

God definitely has plans for you, and He does have good plans: “For we are His creation, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared ahead of time so that we should walk in them” (emphasis added).1

But more importantly: God cares about you. “God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”2 And, “Love consists in this: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation [payment] for our sins.”3 God would not die for us (when we were detestable) if He did not love us. Reread those verses and let that sink in. He is in your situation.

Here’s the point. God does not move away from us, we move away from Him. He cares too much about us to move away from us—He paid our debt with His own Son’s life. The very God who made every fiber of us and atom of the universe loves us. In fact, He pursues us.

If you, like me, felt as if He does not care about you or your situation, or He is laughing at you, there is a misunderstanding on your part as there was on mine. The answer? You need to get to know the Father better.

The best way to accomplish this is to prayerfully read the Bible. Before you begin reading: Ask God to forgive your sins (anything you’ve done wrong) and make His word clear to you. It might be best to read Genesis, Exodus, Psalms, and the New Testament. However, I realize this can seem dry and lifeless. So another way to work up to reading the Bible is to read books about the Bible or based on the Bible, like Christian novels. Our minds need remaking so we can understand God.

Here area a few resources:
The Jesus Creed by Scott McKnight
Books by Robin Jones Gun
Because He Loves Me
: How Christ Transforms Our Daily Life by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick
Repenting of Religion by Gregory Boyd
Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship with God by Dallas Willard

In closing, please read this Psalm and prayerfully ask to become like the young man who wrote these words.

ב Bet

How can a young man keep his way pure?
By keeping Your word.
I have sought You with all my heart;
don’t let me wander from Your commands.
I have treasured Your word in my heart
so that I may not sin against You.
Lord, may You be praised;
teach me Your statutes.
With my lips I proclaim
all the judgments from Your mouth.
I rejoice in the way revealed by Your decrees
as much as in all riches.
I will meditate on Your precepts
and think about Your ways.
I will delight in Your statutes;
I will not forget Your word.
4

Please comment or email ways you are encouraged in tough circumstances or your prayer requests.

__________

1 The Holy Bible: Holman Christian standard version. (2009). (Eph 2:10). Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers.
2 The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ro 5:8). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.
3 The Holy Bible: Holman Christian standard version. (2009). (1 Jn 4:10). Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers.
4 The Holy Bible: Holman Christian standard version. (2009). (Ps 119:9–16). Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

